Members Of The Provincial Legislature

Office Bearers

Office Bearers In The Sixth Legislature

The Speaker of the Northern Cape Provincial legislature (NCPL) oversees the (overall) management of the Legislature. The Speaker also forms part of the sittings of the House and keeps control of all the debates that take place in the House. The Speaker is the political head of the Legislature and is elected to position by fellow MPLs in accordance with Section 111 of the Constitution of South Africa. The Speaker is responsible for the overall management of the Legislature. The Speaker also presides over debates and sittings, and ensures that Members of the Legislature observe the Rules of the House. The individual holding the position of Speaker must be impartial and fair at all times. The Speaker is the guardian of the right to freedom of speech in the House. Beyond simply keeping a “clean” House, the Speaker works closely with the Provincial Secretary, who is the Accounting Officer of the Legislature, and is directly accountable to the Speaker. In accordance with section 111of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa (Act 108 of 1996), the Deputy Speaker assumes all responsibilities, powers and functions of the Speaker in his/her absence.

The Speaker has a Deputy Speaker who stands in for them in their absence from the sittings of the House. Both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are MPLs, who are elected into their positions by other MPLs. The Chairperson of Committees co-ordinates the work of Committees and presides when both the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker are absent.

The Provincial Secretary or Secretary to the Legislature is the only office bearer who is not an elected official. The Secretary is the administrative head of the Legislature, a role which can be understood as the organisation’s CEO. The Secretary is responsible for managing the staff of the Legislature, whose daily work is to provide a support service to the MPLs. Executive Managers, Managers, in divisions in the NCPL account to the Secretary.

The Chief Whip (of the Legislature) is the most senior whip and is elected from the political party with the most MPLs in the House. Party Whips are the people who organise the work of MPLs in party caucuses. They are they are the people who decide which MPL will sit in which Committee.

Apart from the Secretary of the Legislature, all Office Bearers are MPLs. They are appointed to their positions by either their parties or by the House.


Speaker Newrene Klaaste

The Speaker ensures the integrity, independence and impartiality of the institutions. The Speaker is the chairperson of the Rules Committee and other political management structures.

Deputy Speaker Octavious M Matika

The Deputy Speaker acts in the absence of the Speaker and perform all functions and responsibilities of the Speaker. The Deputy Speaker is the chairperson of the Programming Committee.

Chairperson of Committees

The Chairperson of Committees ensures that the committees function effectively and that their programmes are in line with legislative business.

Deputy Chairperson of Committees

The Deputy Chairperson of Committees works with the Chair of Committees to ensure that the committees function effectively and that their programmes are in line with legislative business.

Northern Cape Provincial Legislature Logo
Follow Us
Developed with the financial support of the European Union NCPL Website Sponsored By EU NCPL Sponsored by Legislative Sector South africa
Contact Us

Nobengula Extension, Legislature Building Foyer, Kimberley
(053) 839 8090